Wedding photography, X-Pro1 and X100
  • I have been using my X100 for weddings ever since getting one of the first cameras in the UK and to date it has been used on about 50 weddings. I got my X-Pro1 in late March 2012 and have used it on about 20 weddings.

My usual gear is a pair of Canon 5DmkII's with L series lenses, I love using a 50mm lens so the X-Pro1 with the 35mm F1.4 (equivalent to a 50mm on full frame) seemed like it would suit my work, I had hoped for an X200 with a 50mm lens before I got my X-Pro1.

I'm a documentary wedding photographer so I'm not looking for the usual groups and portraits but instead photographs that tell the story of the day. I love working with smaller cameras and especially love the silent shutter on the X100. Typically I will go to the bridal preps with just the two Fujifilm cameras as I don't need any long lenses at this stage of the day, then I will use my 5DII with a 70-200 F2.8 in the church as well as the X100 and X-Pro1, after the ceremony I often go back to working with just the Fujifilm cameras but I do like my 5DII for the first dance.

These are a few of my photographs taken on the X100 and X-Pro1, I only have the 35mm F1.4 lens for the X-Pro1 so everything wider is from the X100. ISO is typically up to around 3200iso -

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
  • ChristopherChristopher
    Great work Simon, and great application of the benefits of the X Series. Do you find people are more comfortable when you're shooting with the X100 or X-Pro1, compared to your 5D?
    Fuji X Series Administrator · ChrisMarks.com · Space Cadet Photo Blog · Flickr
  • Since a lot of people bring cameras to weddings people don't tend to react to the 5D's anyway, but I do prefer the smaller cameras for bridal preps as I often feel it's intimidating for the bride to have a huge lens pointing at her in a small room.