dpjones

RAW Processing, observations

Hello all,

Shooting with an X-T1, I just did a lot of testing between CaptureOne, Lightroom, Iridient Developer, and Iridient X-Trans w/ Lightroom and here are my thoughts, and what I ended up going with. All of this is just personal opinion.

A quick word, I am a serious hobbyist, and I have worked for 20 years in the film business as a camera assistant. I know two people who are professional on set still photographers who have moved to Fuji and both shoot with the X-T1. I did own a 5D Mark III but recently sold it. I started with Apple Aperture and moved to Lightroom when Apple dropped it(so much fun redoing the catalogue). I have recently moved to the X-T2.

Okay, CaptureOne: I really liked the results of its processing engine. It does a great job with the high ISO files, and a very good job with the detail. I ended up not going with it for a couple of reasons, 1. I do not like the all in one catalogue system, the same as Aperture was. 2. I did not want to learn a new processing system. I didn't have any reasons not to like CaptureOne based on performance with the X-Trans files, though.

Lightroom: I found the fine detail and high ISO noise was handled the least well with Lightroom processing of the RAW files.

Iridient X-Transformer: I found it does a very good job with the detail, and a pretty good job with the high ISO noise. Pretty on par with CaptureOne(some files seemed to be better in CaptureOne and some seemed better with X-Trans, and I have no idea why). 

Iridient Developer: Same as X-Transformer for processing results, though I looked at this the least.