Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Some settings advice, if you please...

16 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi All - need a little help.

I'm taking a trip up 'The Shard' (one of the tallest buildings in Europe) in London for some night time cityscapes tonight.

Im taking the X-Pro, 18mm F2, 35mm F1.4, Samyang 8mm F2.8 and some Zuiko OM primes (50/100) + a monopod. I think I'm OK for gear (!), but I'm a total novice with the subject matter. Black and white appeals, but some help on DR, Sharpness etc would be gratefully recieved.

Thanks!

Franco

Posted

Hi Franco,

1. It's not "one of the tallest in Europe" it's "THE tallest in Europe" afaik ;)

2. I would seriously consider a tripod instead of a monopod. You really want to minimize the camera shaking to zero.

3. Shoot raw and decide if you prefer color or B&W at postprocessing time ;) I personnally prefer color for these kind of shots.

(not a Fuji pic, taken with a Canon SLR, sorry)

(not a Fuji pic, sorry, taken with a Canon SLR)

Posted

hi @lucsky - and thanks!

1) I stand corrected! :-)

2) I hear you, but I dont own one - yet! The reason I'm taking it is actually to hoist the camera high enough, by hand, to look over the high glass panals on the outdoor viewing platform. In truth, I dont foresee much success, but I fear too much reflection otherwise. We'll see.

3) Yes, smart move - I think thats the way to go now actually. B/W in post, with RAW. Good plan.

Marvellous image - thanks for posting. If you still have the settings handy, would love to know.

Thanks!

Franco

Posted

2) I hear you, but I dont own one - yet! The reason I'm taking it is actually to hoist the camera high enough, by hand, to look over the high glass panals on the outdoor viewing platform. In truth, I dont foresee much success, but I fear too much reflection otherwise. We'll see.