drummerboy

Please help with AFL/AEL button

I'm no photography expert but I love my X100s and its fantastic IQ. One puzzle about the need for the AFL/AEL button. I have always focussed with a centre point by getting focus on my target then recomposing the shot whilst holding the shutter button half down. This works for me and I'm used to it. Alternatively, I can use the numerous focus points using the AF button on top of the rotary controller. The camera sets exposure when I take the shot. Am I missing the point of the AFL/AEL button. I would find it quite useful if it was programmable as a second Function button. Please tell me where I'm going wrong.

artuk   

Different photographers like working in different ways.

many people use the "focus and recompose" technique you describe, where the focusing and exposure are set when you press and hold the shutter half way.

In some cases, the thing you want to focus on may not represent the exposure you want - or vice versa. Imagine a very brightly lit statue to one side of your photo, with a darker background. You could use the normal focus and recompose technique, but that might not give you an exposure you like - the statue might be too dark, or the background too bright. You could use exposure compensation to adjust this. Alternatively, if your camera is in "spot" meter mode, you could take a meter reading for something that you want to be "mid gray" in the photo (middle of the exposure range), exposure lock it, then recompose your picture, focus on what you want, and fire the shutter.

EV lock becomes most useful when combined with spot metering in my opinion.

AF lock may also be useful when the thing in focus is not the thing you want the exposure set for - so you lock AF (e.g. on something on one side of the picture in very different light to the rest of the picture), then recompose and half press the shutter to set exposure and take the picture.

• Like 1

pcg