MrMojorisin

Newbie with a Fuji X10

9 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am a Newbie to this forum with a won in a contest Fuji X10.Besides the basic point and shoot cameras I was use to this is out of my comfort zone.

I am physically disabled and mostly homebound in the farmland area of Northwest NJ. I do take a lot of pictures at family functions etc.We started going to live concerts the last 2 years with me in my motorized wheelchair. (I have difficulty walking, standing from a severe work accident in 97) I have taken 100's of pictures at the concerts and we have one coming up in September. I also sit outside or inside by my backdoor taking pictures of the wildlife lately. We have all kinds of beautiful colored birds, chipmunks, baby squirrels,etc. We have had a Doe with her 2 fawns hang around and last fall,  black bears, one outside my backdoor messing around with a huge beehive. If it wasn't for my mixed rescued dog from Mississippi, who must have some hunting genes in her, who pointed and started growling, I would have become close friends with the bear. So there is a lot of things going on right outside my backdoor.

Now all I have to do is learn how to get all the benefits of this complex camera, to this newbie. So any tips or pointers would be appreciated. I have read the short novel of the manual a couple of times, with some understanding and a lot of confusion. I have also been learning to use Adobe Elements 14 to try and organize 15 + years of photos on old hard drives and USB flash drives.

Thank You,

Mojo

I've never used the X10/20/30 series so I can't give advice on setup (I do know there is little point in using apertures smaller than f5.6 on that size sensor so you'll mostly have plenty of light.

Anyway, I just thought I'd welcome you to the forum and let those who own the camera chime in with advice.

Vic