EricaSerena

XT2 and 16-55 focussing issues. Lens or user error?

Hey all. I'm new to the Fuji system. I recently bought the XT2 and a couple of lenses (16-55 and 90mm) for travelling, and felt it was a bit of a waste to only use on holidays, so I've been shooting on it at weddings these past few weeks and loving it.

BUT.... I'm struggling to figure out whether the out of focus images I'm getting on my 16-55mm with far away subjects in particular, are due to the camera, the limitations of the lens or focal length choice, the focussing modes used, or if it's just me not nailing focus? So I'd love some insight from more experience Fuji users. I have one photo which is very far away from this set and shot on 16mm and it's pin sharp. Then the rest of this set was shot around 30-ish mm and all are very soft. Even the closer up ones, but definitely not as bad. This makes me think it's the focal length, but I'd love to hear opinions.

Photos attached are of the zoomed in version. You can see to left how much it's been zoomed in by. At full frame they all look fine on screen, but zoomed in, definitely not harp.   

Keen to hear what people think the issue is. Thank you!

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 10.35.15 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 10.34.12 AM.jpg

K1W1_Mk2   

Were the couple walking when either or both shots were taken? It's hard to tell from the crops but it looks like that might have been.

At the f2.8 aperture used you have a fairly small DOF and if the couple were moving towards or away from you even with AF-C on (was it?) they may have moved out of focus.

Was there a reason why you used f2.8 for shots that are so distant from the camera?

53 minutes ago, K1W1_Mk2 said:

Were the couple walking when either or both shots were taken? It's hard to tell from the crops but it looks like that might have been.