Sign in to follow this  
Neil. E.

Colour Accuracy Lightroom vs Capture One

Neil. E.

I have a slightly unusual question that people on here may have some good experience of. I'm an artist, an abstract painter who paints in wild vibrant colours and also dabble in a bit of photography as a bit of an aside. One thing that is really important to me is that I use Lightroom as a catalogue for my artwork so use it in perhaps a strange way where half of my images are actually paintings not photos. I try to get the archive as accurate as possible to the real thing as a record, admittedly with no specific output requirements other than current publicity etc...mostly web...but want it to be good enough for possibly printing or other use in the future unknown.  After years of using my Fuji XE1 and the last standalone Lightroom 6, I've got to the point where I'm happy with the colour accuracy I get with Lightroom as the raw converter. I don't use any fancy technical colour checkers but being intensely familiar with the specific pigments in the actual paint, I find that I can achieve acceptable colour accuracy by eye on my iMac screen.