Sign in to follow this  
pcg

Review: “Mastering the Fuji X100” by Michael Diechtierow

pcg

Mastering the Fuji X100” by Michael Diechtierow has just been released. I received my copy from Amazon a few days ago. (There are some reports that Mastering is already back-ordered)

Let me begin this review by stating upfront that this is a great camera manual. It’s well written, thoughtfully laid out and has just the right amount of graphics to make its points. Even better, Mastering doesn’t pander to beginning photogs; it assumes that anyone shelling out $1,300 for a camera knows his or her way around shutter speeds and apertures. It doesn’t spend wasted time explaining photography basics. For me, that’s a huge plus.

Before I go into detail, let me mention my own experiences. I’ve been taking photographs since the mid 1960s when I was very young. In time I graduated from a Pentax K100 to an old Contax, then to rangefinders: a Leica IIIC, then a couple IIIFs, then proudly to the pricier IIIG. I graduated from the pre-1950s Leicas in time to Leica Ms (four or five M3s, and later an M6), as well as a couple Nikons, two Canon DLSRs and a Hasselblad, all with the usual variety of lens. I did the darkroom route early on, owned my own darkroom equipment and actively printed large-scale photos. I’ve been in shows, galleries and have pieces in museums and private collections in both the US and Europe. About 10 years ago I shifted abruptly into digital photography and began learning Photoshop and a half dozen plug-ins. So I’ve taken a few photos, and generally know my way around a camera. Last, as a disclaimer, I don’t know Diechtierow, and have no affiliation with Fuji or the publisher.