Sign in to follow this  
dascher1200

x20 jpegs, the saga continues...

dascher1200

Hello all,

I'm Loving this camera and everything about it except...

photo DSCF4584_zpse3a33fd1.jpg

I know is't not terrible and I don't have the latest camera RAW for post but the noise in lower ISO jpegs isn't acceptable. Notice that it is easily seen in the 200 ISO shot above and obvious in the 400 ISO shot below.

photo DSCF4583_zpsc5992ecb.jpg

I don't like to use in camera NR if I don't have to nor do I punch up any of the boost settings for shadows, highlights etc. I'm new to fuji(Nikon shooter) and was wondering if RAW will be mind-blowing in comparison or if this is what you get in post as well. In addition if there is something I'm not doing or should be pushing all the feature settings to attain abetter image I'd love some advice.

-Josh

mattmaber

Others will probably be better able to reply, but they both look OK to me.

Im seeing some jpeg compression around high contrast areas in the second one (green stem top middle & left of the leftish most flower infront of the window)

Id say dont be afraid of the Fuji JPEGs, allow it to do some NR as theyre awesome.

flysurfer

These look like DR200% and DR400% shots to me. At least I think the camera would choose these settings for such a subject if you set it to DR Auto and allow ISO to go to 200 or 400.

andyfromboston

I don't get it. Where's the noise? I see some JPG artifacts from these files being so small, but to me these aren't noisy at all.

dascher1200

I'm 99.9999% sure that these are the basic "fineL" jpegs, no noise reduction, DR adjustments or shadow/highlight boost. Again I'm used to shooting NEF raw and my trust in jpeg or knowledge of jpeg compression and artifacts is marginal at best.