Sign in to follow this  
reagan9000

Filter for X100S?

reagan9000

Hi - I'm new to owning a digital camera with controls and am really enjoying taking shots with my x100s. I would like to put a filter on the lens, to protect it from dust and dirt but I'm unclear about what exactly I need to buy.

I see that the B+W 49mm Slim UV comes recommended, however with the x100s do I also need to buy an adapter to fit it to the lens and if so, which one?

I tend to keep the lens cap on until I am ready to shoot. Will I lose that ability?

Finally, I own Fuji's leather case. Will the filter prevent me from closing it properly?

Thanks!

Welcome to the community!

You will need a lens adaptor ring. Fujifilm offers an official accessory sold by itself or bundled with the lens hood. Fortunately there are inexpensive clones of this product that can be found on eBay for around $10 or less: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?&_nkw=x100+lens+adaptor or Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Fuji-Finepix-Filter-Metal-Adapter/dp/B0059VMH5G/

With the lens adaptor ring and UV filter installed, you will not be able to use the stock Fujifilm lens cap. Additionally, the top half of your Fujifilm leather case will not fit well, but with a slimline filter you should be able to squeeze it over. Keep in mind that this also makes quick removal of the top case difficult.

shangri

Hi @reagan9000

I have the original Fujifilm leather case with the X100s too and unfortunately you can't close it properly with the adapter ring + filter on.

However, there is another solution, using the ring of a filter to substitute for the adapter ring and this works perfectly. Here is a description of it:

http://zackarias.com/for-photographers/gear-gadgets/fuji-x100-review/

Look for the "Accessories" section below the review

Enjoy your wonderful new camera!

Ludwig