Sign in to follow this  
stuartm

Review: Kipon EOS-FX A, Adapter for Canon EF Lenses with mechanical aperture for Fuji X Cameras

stuartm

Hi, I've been using this adapter for a couple of months now, mainly for wedding photography, so I thought I would write up a brief review.

First, a little bit about me. I'm a wedding photographer and videographer, based in the North West of England, and working mainly in Wirral, Cheshire & Liverpool. I have recently changed from Canon to Fuji for my photography, but I still use Canon for video, so I still have some Canon EF lenses, and it's nice to have the option of using them on my Fuji Cameras.

This adapter allows me to do that, and the main lens I use in this way is my 100mm f/2, which unfortunately has no Fuji equivalent at this time.

Here's a couple of pics of the lens + adapter on one of my X-E1s:

p1819291104-6.jpg

p1854655790-6.jpg

I find this setup quite comfortable to use, with just enough heft to help you hold the camera steady.

The main feature about this adapter is that it includes an iris/aperture that can be manually adjusted on the adapter. This is necessary, as the aperture in the lenses is not adjustable when the lens isn't fitted to a compatible Canon camera. Here's a pic of the adapter on it's own, followed by one of the iris fully open, and then closed to its smallest size:

p1673701781-6.jpg

p1756900431-6.jpg

p1649120941-6.jpg

The aperture dial on the adapter has positions marked 1-6. Position 1 is fully open, but position 6 is only partially closed, the minimum aperture position requires the dial to be turned further. An important factor is that the iris is in a different place then the one in the lens, causing some side effects.

Here's a shot with the Iris fully open:

p1653264640-6.jpg