Sign in to follow this  
Bego

Shutter speed stuck at 1/34 (?)

Bego

Hi,

I am new to the Fuji X system (have been, and still is, a long time Nikon fan) and, of course, new here. So, hello everybody.

I am discovering the wonders of the X100s and I am already contemplating the X-Pro 2 or the XE-2 in a near future. Maybe even ditching my Nikon digital system. Maybe.

Now, my question: I am trying to shoot a really low-light subject, at ISO 400, in A mode, and no matter where I put the aperture, from f/2 ro f/16, shutter speed seems to be stuck at 1/34. Is there some setting that I missed that prevents shutter to shoot slower than 1/34? I'm not in Auto ISO mode, where I'd understand the Auto to not let shutter speed go any slower than 1/focal lenght (hence 1/34). Thank you.

K1W1_Mk2

Have you tried manual mode and setting the shutter and aperture independently?

If you are not in auto iso I can't think of any reason why the shutter speed would be fixed at 1/34.

Bego

Have you tried manual mode and setting the shutter and aperture independently?

If you are not in auto iso I can't think of any reason why the shutter speed would be fixed at 1/34.

It does. Yes, I could go to manual mode, but that wouldn't solve the problem. Thanks.

Bego

I heard this problem, from a lot of x100 users.

you have to go fuji service

Just what I didn't want to read. Thanks anyway.

Bego

Now, after a couple of hours off, the camera seems to have gone back to normal. I can now shoot at f/2 and 1/20 or even 1/4. Still, this obvious bug... bugs me.

sloflyfishguy

As I recall, this was an issue with at least one prior version of the firmware and, supposedly, has been fixed in the latest version. I've updated the firmware on my X-E1 and all of my lenses, but I haven't tested this particular feature/bug since then.

Being an old film guy, I have no issues in reverting to manual mode when in doubt.

johnbasco