saruman

x30 flash always off

I've just bought a x30 but I'm not able to make the flash works.

No matter which mode is selected, the flash is always suppressed.

I've tried either the right selector and the flash setup in shooting menù, and I can access only the compensation but not the mode that is always, as said,suppressed.

Is my camera faulty or is it a general issue?

Could it be that you have activated silent mode turning off all sound AND the flash? On Fujifilm cameras typically you press and hold the DISP/BACK button to toggle the silenst mode on and off.

Thanks, but this isn't the problem.

I've checked this but it's ok.

I've tried to reset the setup but again this hasn't solved.

I haven't tried to upgrade the firmware because it does fix another kind of problem but maybe I can give it a try.

Is it possible to opena ticket with Fuji? I'm new with this brand so I don't know how this kind of things wors.

Fuji cameras some times do things that are not well documented in the manuals. One action or menu setting causes a second setting to cease being available. It is usually logical when you work it out but often frustrating until you do.

You might have turned something on that disables the flash ( as mentioned silent mode is one thing that does it, I think burst mode also does on some cameras). The best thing to do right now is to reset the camera to factory default as per the manual one more time then check whether flash is working prior to making any other adjustments. If it is not then contacting Fuji will be the next step.

It has worked

I reset the camera to default (this time also the shooting settings) and it worked

Probably it's the burst mode that I somehow activated that inhibits the flash

Thanks to everyone for the prompt support. :)>-