EVF image does not match actual shot

yearningmaple

I'm new to my X-T1 and this forum, and am by no means a pro or even semi-pro photographer, so please bear with. Why is it that I can compose a shot in the EVF and it will look fairly well-exposed, certainly not any extremes on the histogram, yet the actual shot can come out totally black or virtually all blown out?

I have no idea about setting my viewfinder to display actual exposure or standard brightness . . . Didn't know that was a thing.

That sounds like your problem then. You are shooting in Manaul exposure mode - how do you know the exposure is correct? If you have the EVF set to auto-gain, it will show a "correct" exposure regardless of what settings you choose manually. The histogram will also be "normal", but in no way reflect the actual shot you will take. Fortunately, Fuji eventually added the option in the menus so that the user can choose if they want the EVF to auto-gain, or to show the actual exposure. It sounds like it might be the problem - by default, auto gain will be turned on in the factory settings, I suspect.

yearningmaple

To be more specific, it's Preview Exposure/WB in Manual Mode set to ON.

Doesn't that mean I should be able to preview the exposure when in manual mode? Which is exactly what I am not getting.

There were a couple of strange M mode "features" in older Fuji cameras and this sounds like one of them. In my X-S1 the histogram in the M mode does not work: when you change the shutter speed or aperture, the histogram does not move. There is a little tick on the EV scale that moves up and down, but the histogram looks "normal" regardless of the camera settings.

So when in the M mode, do not trust the histogram, look at the position of the EV scale mark.

Unless this has been fixed...

yearningmaple