Sign in to follow this  
SimonHo

Can things be seen clearly through the fujifilm x30's EVF under bright sunlight ?

SimonHo

I have been using an X10 for almost 3 years and am thinking to swap it for a x30. Just wonder how's the performance of the EVF ?Can things be seen clearly through the fujifilm x30's EVF under bright sunlight?

UncaMikey

Yes. I was shooting with an Olympus XZ-2 but got a X30 about a week ago, and one of the main reasons was the EVF.

I've been out in very bright sunlight and can say that the EVF is a joy to use! I had forgotten how nice it is to shoot with a viewfinder rather than the rear LCD.

K1W1_Mk2

If the EVF on the X30 is anything like the EVFon the X100s then my answer is no it will become useless in bright light, obviously people's definition of bright light will be different. I am talking mid day in cloudless Australian summer skies bright light.

flysurfer

The X30 and X100T feature auto brightness, so they are ahead of less proficient cameras like the X-T1 in this regard.

UncaMikey

Let me be more specific, based on an entire week (!!) of shooting the X30, mostly outside on bright cloudless days -- I had no trouble whatsoever seeing the image in the EVF or the displays of shooting info, including the framing grid and the level. I don't think I'll ever go back to shooting with the rear LCD, or even an optical viewfinder, it's that good.

Simonaus

i find it adequate in bright light.

Definately useable if you have / want to.

I only use it if I'm moving and shooting and reviewing later..

I find I still use the LCD anyways because reviewing through it is a pain, due to the play button position. and if i have to look at the LCD.....

When I can assign so many other buttons to various other buttons, the play button is probably in the worst ergomic position imaginable.

It makes one handed operation nearly impossible.

If it was moved I could shoot, review, and walk all at the same time via the EVF if I chose to.

SimonHo