neo8175

switching from Canon to Fuji

A few weeks ago, I decided to sell most of my Canon gear - 5D Mark III and a few Canon L lenses - in hopes of rejuvenating my interest in photography. The 5D was a great camera but was so heavy, bulky and I never wanted to carry it around with me. After reading several reviews and commentaries, I plan on buying one of the Fuji cameras but I'm having a hard to time deciding which camera to buy. I will be using the camera mainly for family photos ( I have a 4 yr old), street photography and travel. I'm not a professional photographer by any means - just a hobbyist. So far, I've looked at the xt-1, x100t and the xt10. Didn't get a chance to look at the xpro2 yet. Budget around ~2k.

2K - British pounds or $, US/Can/Aus or Eros? Not being pedantic but it makes a big difference when you need a body with maybe std zoom + 1 or 2 fast primes. What Canon lenses do you use? (Note - use, not own.) that should be a good guide for our advice.

You are not alone in leaving Canon, Nikon for Fuji. Most of us did the same, I came from FF and APS Nikon systems.

BTW: Welcome to the forum.

Vic

Hi, you sound I lat to me in what you want from photography and your level of expertise. I think with Fuji X-series you have three key choices to make, which then start to home in on models you may be interested in.

1) Fixed lens - for simplicity with high quality. No need to worry which lenses to take with you today. In this category, the X100T and X70 are the main contenders, with the X30 offering a zoom option, and the XQ2 a really compact option, although o viewfinder. I have had an X10 (older model of X30), and XF1 and an  XQ1 in the past. All have been excellent in their own way. For me though, compact/travel photography has led me to using my iPhone6 and a Canon G5X.